Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics Resources: Recommended Databases

What are databases?

Databases are extremely valuable resources for academic researchers due to the fact that they aggregate high-quality scientific information and provide search interfaces that help you locate the resources that are most relevant for your specific research topic.

The databases and electronic resources mentioned on this page will help you obtain relevant and trustworthy information for physics research topics. You can access any of them through the A-Z Databases list.

Remember that what is included in this page is just a small sample of what you have available through UPRM General Library. We encourage you to explore the A-Z Databases list. When you access the list, you can open the menu titled "All Subjects" and select the "Física/Physics" option (see the image on the right). This will limit the list to resources that are especially recommended for this discipline.

NOTE: If you are specifically interested in locating ebooks about physics, visit the section of this guide titled "Books".

Databases and electronic resources highly specific to physics

Access any of the following resources through the A-Z Databases list.

American Physical Society Journals 
This suite of journals by APS is an internationally renowned source for knowledge in diverse subdisciplines within physics.

IOP Publishing Open Access
These are resources published by the Institute of Physics covering a broad diversity of topics within physics.

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
PROLA provides the Physical Review Journal Collection, an extremely valuable resource that is published by the American Physical Society.

Scitation
This resource includes physics and engineering journals from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and other publishers.

SCOAP3 (Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics)
This is a partnership of over 3 thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries and 3 intergovernmental organizations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors.

Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) Digital Library
This resource is dedicated to enhancing the present and future of applied geophysics and geophysical science.

Arxiv 
Pre-print repository that provides access to manuscripts reporting recent findings in fields like physics, mathematics, astronomy and computer science.

Other databases that are useful for physics topics

Scientific databases

EThese databases are not strictly specific to physics, but they do contain a lot of material related to the sciences or STEM fields. They can help you locate quality information on physics topics.

Annual Reviews Taylor & Francis Journals
SpringerLink Online Journals Wiley Online Library
SpringerNature eBooks American Vacuum Society (AVS) Digital Library
Science Magazine Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
Nature Journals Online TechRxiv
PLoS (Public Library of Science) National Academies Press (NAP)
ScienceDirect French Digital Mathematics Library (NUMDAM)
IEEE Xplore Digital Library SciFinder-n
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database ACS Publications (Frontfile 1996 - present)

Multidisciplinary databases

The following databases cover a wide diversity of topics. You can also incorporate them into your research process as you search for physics-related sources.

Google Scholar

If you are looking for a specific research article that you know the title of, a good option is to look it up in Google Scholar.

If you conduct a search in Google Scholar while you are at UPRM or while connected to the UPRM network, you will see access links next to the search results that are available through UPRM General Library.