Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics Resources: Books

Accessing physics ebooks

These databases are good for locating physics ebooks and electronic book chapters. To access any of them, go to UPRM General Library's list of databases and electronic resources: A-Z Databases.

National Academies Press (NAP) French Digital Mathematics Library (NUMDAM)
IEEE Xplore Morgan & Claypool Synthesis eBooks Library Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
SpringerNature eBooks ACS Publications (Frontfile 1996 - present)
Taylor & Francis eBooks OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)
ScienceDirect eBooks Wiley Online Library
Open Research Library (ORL) ProQuest One Academic

Reference books

You can access physics reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, textbooks, etc.) by visiting the UPRM General Library Reference and Documents Collection (Colección de Referencia y Documentos).

You can also use the databases mentioned above to search for reference books. For example, OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) provides open access physics textbooks. This database is a fantastic resource for instructors who have an interest in open educational resources (OER).  

Additionally the A-Z Databases list includes a link to the Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Geophysics, Fourth Edition.

How to search for ebooks (Workshop in English)

This is a recording of a workshop offered by librarian Prof. Grisell Rodríguez on how to search for ebooks on a variety of topics. This workshop is in English.