Recinto Universitario de Mayagüez, Call Box 9000 Mayagüez, PR 00681 (787) 832-4040 ext. 3810, 2151, 2155 library@uprm.edu
There are many resources available online to continue learning about digital preservation. Here are links to some you may want to view.
ARSC Guide to Audio Preservation
Curation Reference Manual (Digital Curation Center)
Digital Preservation (National Archives)
Digital Preservation (Northeast Document Conservation Center)
Digital Preservation Handbook (Digital Preservation Coalition)
Digital Preservation Policies and Planning at ICPSR
National Digital Stewardship Alliance
PREMIS Data Dictionary for Preservation Metadata
Preservation Strategies for Born-Digital Materials (Smithsonian Institution Archives)
Recommended Preservation Formats for Electronic Records (Smithsonian Institution Archives)
The Signal (Digital preservation blog published by the Library of Congress)
Theory & Craft of Digital Preservation (Draft version of the book by Trevor Owens)
This workshop, offered by conservator and archivist Caroline Gil Rodríguez, provides an introduction to fundamental digital preservation concepts. Some of the topics covered include what constitutes a digital file, the different file types that one can find in a digital collection, open-source versus proprietary file formats in the context o digital preservation, technical metadata of files, and techniques to manage and monitor digital collections. The workshop is in Spanish.
This workshop was made possible through funding provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for the project “Listening to Puerto Rico: The Promise of Oral History On-Campus and Beyond” (NEH, Grant Award# ZDH-284106-22).
Note: Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the workshop do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.