OHL Workshop Series Recordings
The workshop recordings included below are part of a series of educational activities organized by the Oral History Lab of the University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez. These two talks specifically address the subject of archives. However, other workshops in the series are also relevant to the topic. To access the recordings for the whole series, click here.
Introduction to Archival Practice
Introducción a la archivística: Conceptos y prácticas para la gestión de archivos y colecciones (August 26, 2022)
In this talk, archivist Cristina Fontánez Rodríguez discusses basic theories and concepts related to archival practice and their practical application to collection acquisition and development, appraisal, processing, access, and use. This webinar was designed for people who work or have an interest in working in archival settings and who have little or no previous knowledge about the history of the archival field and its theoretical frameworks.
The webinar is in Spanish.
Complementary Material
Brief Bibliography on Archival Practice Topics - This bibliography was created by workshop presenter Cristina Fontánez Rodríguez. It contains works in both English and Spanish.
This workshop is part of a series of educational talks organized by UPRM's Oral History Lab. The series was made possible through funding provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for the project “Listening to Puerto Rico: The Promise of Oral History On-Campus and Beyond” (NEH, Grant Award# ZDH-284106-22).
Note: Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the workshops do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Community-Focused Oral Archives
Archivos orales con enfoque comunitario: Teorías y metodologías (24 de febrero de 2023)
This talk presents ideas, steps, and points to consider when creating community-focused oral archives. It addresses the new political and ethical role of archivists within the community paradigm of archival practice, and it shows practical cases to understand the value and functionality of oral testimonies in various Latin American community archives. Finally, the talk presents ideas for the planning and implementation of this type of initiative in future projects. The speaker, Claudio Ogass Bilbao, is an activist archivist and a member of Taller de Archivística Comunitaria (TAC), an organization in Chile dedicated to fostering the creation of community archives. He is also a PhD student in the Archives and Records Management program of the University of Liverpool.
The webinar is in Spanish.
Complementary Material
This workshop is part of a series of educational talks organized by UPRM's Oral History Lab. The series was made possible through funding provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) for the project “Listening to Puerto Rico: The Promise of Oral History On-Campus and Beyond” (NEH, Grant Award# ZDH-284106-22).
Note: Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the workshops do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.