Recinto Universitario de Mayagüez, Call Box 9000 Mayagüez, PR 00681 (787) 832-4040 ext. 3810, 2151, 2155 library@uprm.edu
In simple terms, and archive is an organization that acquires, maintains, preserves, and provides access to documentary records that have continuing value. These records can be of many different types, such as text documents, photographs, audio or video recordings, etc. They can also be either digital or analog.
There are many kinds of archives, with different missions and collection scopes. Some examples are national archives, institutional archives, and community archives. The records maintained by an archive will be in accordance to its scope and purpose, as well as the interests and information needs of its community of users.
These are links to some more in-depth explanations:
Archives exist because it is understood that certain documents merit preservation because of their enduring value as sources of information or evidence. The specific nature of this value can vary from one context to the next. For example, some documents may have value for purely historical reasons, while others may derive their value from being inextricably linked to the business processes of an organization. Therefore, what is considered worthy of preservation will depend on the priorities and interests of the community that the archive serves.
Archives and the records they contain can serve a variety of extremely important purposes, such as examining and interpreting historical events or processes, developing and supporting historical narratives, constructing meaning, shaping the identity of communities, recounting human experiences, and preserving crucial records for posterity.
As mentioned above, what records are ultimately deemed worthy of long-term preservation in archives depends on perceptions of value. These decisions about what should be preserved are not always equitable, and the perspectives, interests, and priorities of marginalized communities can often be ignored. Therefore, social power inequalities are often reproduced in archival representations of history. This is something to keep in mind. It is important to make conscious efforts towards creating historical representations in archives that are more equitable, genuine, and fair.
Provenance refers to the source of archival documents, who created or owned them prior to their arrival at the archive. The principle of provenance states that documents that come from a particular source (person, company, group, etc.) should be kept together. For example, if an individual's personal papers are donated to an archival institution, these papers must remain together and not become dissociated from each other. This is crucial for protecting the integrity and the authenticity of the group of documents. It is important that the provenance of all items be recorded.
This concept refers to the arrangement of items. When an archive receives a collection of documents, the organization and order established by the creator or owner of the records should be maintained. As with provenance, the concept of original order is important in terms of maintaining the integrity and evidentiary value of archival material, as the order in which documents are arranged can add context and offer insight into how the documents were created and used.
The concept of authenticity means that a thing is what it is said to be. For example, if a photograph in an online repository is labeled "UPRM Art Exposition 2021", it is authentic if it in fact shows an image of that specific event held on that particular year. Authenticity is especially important for records that have significant evidentiary value. Archives must protect the authenticity of their documents, as this is essential for their trustworthiness. One way to do this is by properly recording information related to items' provenance and custodial history.
Appraisal refers to the evaluation of material for purposes of acquisition or retention by the archive or to establish priorities for preservation. Several factors can come into play when appraising material, including the priorities and interests of the researcher community, the historical value or rarity of documents, or the importance certain records may have as evidence.
Fixity refers to documents retaining their content and structure without undergoing any alterations. This term is used frequently in the context of digital documents and refers to digital files retaining their original bit-to-bit integrity without undergoing changes. If the original content or structure of a document is altered, the document is no longer "fixed". Protecting fixity is essential for the trustworthiness of archival material, especially when the material has important evidentiary value.
In very simple terms, metadata is commonly defined as information about information. Any item that conveys meaning, such as a text document, a video, or an image, can be considered an information resource. Metadata describes information resources and provides context so that users have a more accurate idea of what they are looking at.
These are some examples of the type of questions that are answered by metadata:
Metadata enriches an information resource by adding context. For example, situating a photograph in a certain historical place and time can give it much deeper meaning to a person inspecting it. Similarly, a written document can have more meaning for a researcher if she knows it is part of a particular individual's personal collection and that it was written at a specific historical juncture.
Metadata also enhances the findability of specific items by providing terminology which may be used in a search. Researchers are therefore more likely to retrieve the resources most relevant to their interests.
One of the objectives of archives is to ensure long-term preservation of the items in their care. Metadata records provide detailed descriptions of items and help guide the preservation process by shedding light on issues such as:
This information is helpful in establishing priorities and making sound decisions related to preservation.
Metadata standards, also called metadata schemas, are sets of guidelines for assigning metadata to items. They are useful because they create consistency between metadata records created by different groups. This makes it easier to share and understand metadata records from different sources. Below are some examples of metadata standards used in archival practice.