Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mendeley Reference Manager: Home

How to use Mendeley and join our UPR-Mayaguez Mendeley Group

Mendeley Overview

                

Mendeley Reference Manager is a free, online reference management tool that allows you to manage, read, share, annotate and cite your research papers., an academic collaboration network and crowdsourced database with a unique layer of social information research. Download Mendeley Reference Manager.

  • Free, online tool for reference management
  • Includes 8,500+ citation styles (traditional and journals)
  • File organizer functions to easily manage references
  • Drag and drop feature to add PDFs and automatically extract metadata from research papers
  • Import your reference libraries from other reference management tools such as Endnote and RefWork
    • Click on Add new button
    • Choose Import library and select the format

Mendeley Reference Manager is supported on Mac, Windows and Linux, by all major browsers and text processors.

                         .                          .                  

Google chrome icons created by Pixel perfect - FlaticonFirefox icons created by Freepik - FlaticonMicrosoft Corporation, Microsoft_Edge_logo, via Wikimedia Commons, MITOperating System Logos

Getting Started with Mendeley

Create your account at https://mendeley.com/join. You will need to use your campus email account. 

create your account

Mendeley cite icon

Mendeley Cite speeds up the process of referencing when writing, giving researchers the tools to quickly and easily insert references from their Mendeley library directly into their Word document. The Mendeley Cite add-in for Word allows you to insert individual or multiple references and automatically create a bibliography from the citations you've inserted. Click here to install the plug-in.

Installing Mendeley Reference Manager for the First Time? 

  1. Make sure Microsoft Word is closed.
  2. Login to your Outlook campus email
  3. Download Mendeley Reference Manager and install
  4. Sign in with your campus email
  5. Under Mendeley Reference Manager toolbar, click Tools
  6. Choose Install Mendeley Cite for Microsoft Word
  7. Click on References tab in Microsoft Word
  8. Need more help? Please Contact Us

Already have Mendeley Reference Manager Installed?

  1. Make sure Microsoft Word is closed.
  2. Login to your Outlook campus email
  3. Login to Mendeley Reference Manager
  4. If asked, install the latest update 
  5. Open Microsoft Word
  6. Click on References tab in Microsoft Word
  7. Need more help? Please Contact Us

Install Mendeley Web Importer into your favorite web browser to import references and documents from the Internet.

         

                 
Save articles to your Mendeley Library as you browse.

Managing your References

Open Word document     

Choose References tab       

  • Click on Mendeley Cite (you may be asked to login with your Mendeley account)
  • Click on Citation Settings
  • Under Citation Style, click on Change citation style
  • Choose from one of the citation styles available in the list OR
    • Scroll down and click on Search for another style
    • Search tip #1: Use full name of style (e.g. Modern Language Association and not MLA)
    • Search tip #2: Check the needed version or edition before selecting
  • Once you find the needed citation style, click on Update citation style

                                       ​​​​​​​

  • Under Citation Language, click on Change citation language, choose needed language then click on Update citation language
  • You should now see the chosen citation style, citation language and a preview of an in-text citation and a reference list citation

Add References to your Mendeley library by:

  • dragging and dropping a PDF or multiple PDFs into your library in the Mendeley Reference Manager window

Adding PDFs           

  • click on Add new button, choose File(s) from computer

   

  • click on Add new button, choose Add file manually. For example, search with the DOI of an article

  • when reading an article from a database or website, click the export button then choose ''Export citation to RIS"

Mendeley will automatically extract the metadata from the file(s) and create a library entry

Notebook tab

Add a new page (you can have as many pages as need in your Notebook), give it a title (usually topic of articles), add comments or highlights to an article and add it to the appropriate page. Easily find all comments and highlights of articles related to a particular topic (page) in the Notebook tab

           

.   Add notes or highlights to your PDFs using the Annotations tab.

 

double-click on article to open in PDF viewer, got to section of article where you want to make a comment, click on comment icon to add your annotation

double-click on article to open in PDF viewer, got to section of article where you want to highlight, click on highlight icon to add your annotation

Styles are stored as .csl (Citation Style Language) files and can be found in the GitHub repository.

To download a style

  • Open the      GitHub repository of citation styles

               GitHub repository of citation styles

  • Click on the Go to file button
  • Start typing the name of the style you need
  • Click on the link to the style in the list
  • Click on the Raw button
    • A new page should be displaying the XML text version of the .csl file
    • Copy the URL of the page
  • Open Word, click on Mendeley Cite, select the tab Citation Settings, select Change citation style, scroll down and select Add custom style, paste the link (URL of the page) for the style into the custom style window and hit enter

Complementary Resources

Mendeley Data is a free and secure cloud-based communal repository where you can easily store, share, access and cite your data. You can search 20 million+ datasets from 1000+ repositories.

The Mendeley Data repository is a participating member of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Data Science Strategy (ODSS) GREI (Generalist Repository Ecosystem Initiative) project. The GREI includes seven established generalist repositories funded by the NIH to work together to establish consistent metadata, develop use cases for data sharing, train and educate researchers on FAIR data and the importance of data sharing, and more. More details here.

You will find instructions in the Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO).for preparing a data management plan for projects seeking funding from:

   NEH Digital Humanities Advancement Grants (DHAG) program.

The following links include information related to data sharing in the Humanities;

The BioMedical Informatics Coordinating Committee (BMIC) maintains lists of

data sharing resources.      .   These are listed by specific disciplines and subject matters.

These sites will help you find the standardized full name of the journal title or abbreviation or acronym of the journal title:                                                                                                                                                                        

Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research List of Journal Abbreviations

Journals Referenced in the NCBI Databases (PubMed)

Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations

ISSN List of Title Word Abbreviations

 

This list contains all the standardized abbreviations used for words in scientific citations based on ISO 4

CAS Source (CASSI) Source Tool

Genamics JournalSeek

Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations (The University of British Columbia, Woodward Library)

Journal Abbreviation Sources

Non Predatory/Legitimate/Credible Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ Seal

This seal is awarded to journals that meet all seven of the following DOAJ criteria: (1) digital preservation, (2) persistent article identifiers (e.g. DOI), (3) metadata supply (uploading to DOAJ), (4) license type (allow CC BY, CC BY-SA, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-SA), (5) license info in articles (all fulltext articles should display CC licensing), (6) copyright/publishing rights (allow authors to retain unrestricted copyright and publishing rights), and (7) self-archiving policy (allow authors to publish all versions in institutional repository with no embargoes)

Predatory/Deceptive/Fraudulent/Suspicious Journals

Beall’s list is a list of potential predatory publishers created by the librarian Jeffrey Beall.

Beall's List of Potential Predatory Journals and Publishers

This is a list of counterfeit websites that pretend to be the website of a legitimate scholarly journal. You will find the legitimate journal website listed on the right column.

Hijacked Journals

The following lists are freely available on Cabells website:

Journals Removed from Cabells Journalytics

This list has journals that were removed from Cabells Non-Predatory/Legitimate/Credible Journals. They are not necessarily added to Cabells Predatory Journals list.

Journals Under Review for Cabells Predatory Reports

This list has journals that are being evaluated using Cabells Predatory Reports Criteria v 1.1

Action Plan for Diamond Open Access (March 2022)

Author(s): Zoé Ancion (French National Research Agency), Lidia Borrell-Damián (Science Europe), Pierre Mounier (OPERAS), Johan Rooryck (cOAlition S), Bregt Saenen (Science Europe)

Help

Get help from these Mendeley guides

Click here If you are encountering issues with the Mendeley Word plugin. If the instructions there do not solve your issue then do the following:

  • Scroll to the bottom of the same page and click on the Email icon
  • Make sure to give as much detail as possible about the issue

Librarian

Profile Photo
Grisell Rodriguez
She, Her, Hers
Contact:
U of Puerto Rico - Mayaguez - Library - GRIC (Graduate Research and Innovation Center)
Call Box 9000
Mayaguez, PR 00681-9000
787-832-4040, x6284
Skype Contact: grisrodrig