Información Agrícola (EEA): Inicio

Puerto Rico y las Islas Vírgenes americanas y británicas tienen unas 500 especies de árboles nativos. Esta obra presenta una gran variedad, incluye los nombres científicos, los comunes, mapas de distribución, descripciones e ilustraciones, entre otra información de utilidad.

Contemporary agriculture is a wide-ranging field with its own unique language. As an aid for improving scientific communication for everyone from students to public decision-makers, this directory provides a comprehensive guide to the terminology of agriculture. It includes every area of agriculture, from traditional farming to environmental sciences to the latest developments in biotechology and genetics. It includes definitions of agricultural education, agroecology, forestry, pathology, and veterinary science.

Este boletín es una contribución conjunta del Departamento de Protección de Cultivos, Estación Experimental Agrícola, Recinto de Mayagüez en Río Piedras y del Jardín Botánico de la UPR.

This text provides an accurate and comprehensive dictionary of terms used in the agricultural and environmental sciences, it includes many biological, chemical, and health terms that are important for a full understanding of the subject fields. Presenting thousands of entries, many not found in similar dictionaries, this new reference contains the latest, most up to date definitions and designations of usage in the fields of agriculture, soil science, animal science, agricultural engineering and many more.

Still considered the definitive work on medicinal herbs and their uses after two decades, the Handbook of Medicinal Herbs has undergone a long-anticipated revision. In the second edition, world-renowned ethnobotanist James A. Duke provides up-to-date data on over 800 of the world's most important medicinal plant species. The book contains more species, phytochemicals, proven indications, folk indications, and dosage data than the first edition in a new easier to use format. The in-depth content, the addition of color plates and over 200 black and white illustrations makes this book the most comprehensive resource on medicinal herbs available.

Heliconia, large tropical flowers native to Central and South America and some islands of the South Pacific, have become favorite horticultural subjects throughout the world. Many cultivated varieties are available from florists as cut flowers or potted plants in regions where they cannot be grown outdoors and others are commonly used as ornaments for landscaping in the tropics. Fully illustrated with color photographs that capture the reds, yellows, greens, and pinks of long-lasting heliconia blooms, this field guide is the definitive source for easy and efficient identification of 200 species, varieties, hybrids, and cultivars of the genus Heliconia. Botanical and horticultural names are given for each species, along with a brief description of morphological features, blooming time, habitat, and geographic distribution.

"A study of the folkloric and scientific bases for the use of more than three hundred medicinal plants in Puerto Rico. Nunez-Melendez also provides analysis of their therapeutic value. An appendix of pharmaceutical preparations; a glossary of botanical terms and an index which gives the scientific names of the plants, are also included."

"Bilingual publication (Spanish/English). This guide provides an easy way to identify the most common plants associated with wetland areas found in Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. One hundred thirteen plants are covered, including native and introduced species."

"Completely revised edition of the work published in 1982. A guide to native and naturalized plants, classified by family, genus and species."

This book aim to collect and present available data, both published and unpublished, on energy use in agriculture and forestry production.

Este libro bilingue (español e inglés) contiene 384 fotografías a color de las flores nativas, endémicas, así como las especies introducidas o exóticas, escapadas de cultivo y naturalizadas.

Este volumen presenta los árboles de Puerto Rico, tanto los endémicos como algunos de los introducidos de otros lugares, porque los mismos ya forman parte de nuestra flora.

The Tropical Tree Seed Manual is a one-volume reference manual for students, technicians, and scientist that provides comprehensive, internationally compiled data about tropical trees.

Color cyclopedia of exotic plants and trees for the tropics and subtropics; for warm region horticulture in cool climate the sheltered indoors. 7000 color photographs and descriptive text. Additional 16 page of corrections and revisions.