Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Resources: Recommended Databases

Recommended databases for biology research topics

Databases are extremely valuable resources for academic researchers due to the fact that they aggregate high-quality scientific information and provide search interfaces that help you locate the resources that are most relevant for your specific research topic.

The following databases and electronic resources will help you obtain relevant and trustworthy information for biology research topics. To access any of them, click here

NOTE: If you are specifically interested in locating ebooks on biology, visit the section of this guide titled "Books".

SpringerLink Online Journals Taylor & Francis Journals
PLoS (Public Library of Science) Wiley Online Library
Nature Journals Online Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Science Magazine AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
Annual Reviews Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
BioOne Complete ASABE Technical Library
CAB Direct PubMed
Biological Science Database ScienceDirect

This is just a small sample of what you have available through UPRM General Library. We encourage you to explore our full list of databases and electronic resources, which you can view through the following link: A-Z Databases. When you access the list, you can open the menu titled "All Subjects" and select the "Biología/Biology" option. This will limit the list to resources that are recommended for this discipline.

 

Multidisciplinary databases

These are multidisciplinary databases that you can use to conduct searches on biology topics. To access them, go to A-Z Databases.

If you are looking for a specific research article that you know the title of, a good option is to look it up in Google Scholar.

If you conduct a search in Google Scholar while you are at UPRM or while connected to the UPRM network, you may have full text access to a greater portion of your search results, since several of these might be available through UPRM General Library.