Skip to main content

Información Agrícola: Recursos de la USDA

Una guía con datos sobre dónde conseguir información agrícola y se dan a conocer los servicios de la Biblioteca Estación Experimental Agrícola. Preparado especialmente para los estudiantes del Colegio de Ciencias Agrícolas.

Contáctanos

 

1193 Calle Guayacán

Jardín Botánico Sur

San Juan, PR  00926

Tel. (787) 767-9721

biblioteca.eea@upr.edu

 

Colecciones digitales de la USDA

El Departamento de Agricultura de los Estados Unidos tiene una gran cantidad de documentos sobre el tema de agricultura disponibles al público en general, a través de la National Agricultural Library Digital Collections.  Presentamos aquí algunas de sus colecciones.

Fruit and Vegetable Market News Collection

Since 1915, Fruit and Vegetable Market News reports have provided an exchange of information among growers, shippers, wholesalers, and others on current supplies, demand, and prices of over 400 fresh fruit, vegetable, nut, ornamental, and other specialty crops. Because of the perishable and seasonal nature of fresh fruits and vegetables, prices and supplies fluctuate rapidly from day to day, and even from hour to hour. Thus, fast, timely and impartial reporting of supply, price, and market conditions helps facilitate an efficient marketing system.

 

Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection

The USDA National Agricultural Library's new online Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection houses more than 900 historical diet and nutrition publications issued by the U.S. Government over past 100 years.

 

Organic Root Collection

Organic Roots is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. The collection contains documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture.

 

Plant Inventory, U.S. Department of Agriculture

The Plant Inventory is a periodical produced from 1898 to the present of plant material introduced into the U.S. National Plant Germplasm System. This publication is the official listing of plant materials obtained by and accepted into the U.S. National Plant Germplasm System coordinated by Agricultural Research Service, USDA. The inventory, published quarterly from 1903 through 1941 and annually since 1942, is comprised of listings of the plant materials.

 

Historical Gypsy Moth Publications Collection

These documents were published from 1891 to 1923 by various agencies in the area of the initial infestation, including the State Board of Agriculture for Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island, but also include some more modern USDA publications.

 

Journal articles, USDA Authors, Peer-Reviewed

Contains digital copies of peer-reviewed research authored by U.S. Department of Agriculture scientists and published in scientific journals. Audience is primarily the scientific community.

 

Reports of Bean Improvement Cooperative and National Dry Bean Council Research Conference

Collection of reports of Bean Improvement Cooperative and National Dry Bean Council Research Conference.

 

Rural Development Publications Collections 

This collection includes publications that relate to rural development in America, including from such series as Rural Development Research Reports, Rural Development Perspectives, Agricultural Economic Reports, and Agriculture Information Bulletins, as well as selected Economic Research Staff Reports, Yearbook of Agriculture and the first 300 volumes of Agriculture Handbooks.

 

USDA Pomological Watercolor Collection

The USDA Pomological Watercolor Collection is one of the most unique collections in the Rare and Special Collections of the National Agricultural Library (NAL). As a historic botanical resource, it documents new fruit and nut varieties, and specimens introduced by USDA plant explorers from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection spans the years 1886 to 1942. The majority of the paintings were created between 1894 and 1916. The plant specimens represented by these artworks originated in 29 countries and 51 states and territories in the U.S. There are 7,497 watercolor paintings, 87 line drawings, and 79 wax models created by approximately 21 artists.

 

World’s Poultry Science Association (WPSA) Collection

The World's Poultry Science Association (WPSA), established in 1912, is one of the oldest international poultry organizations in existence. The First World's Poultry Congress was held in The Hague, Netherlands in 1921, where international cooperation in the poultry sciences was established. The main objectives of the association are to promote the advancement and exchange of knowledge in all areas of poultry science and poultry industry.